Hello Darkness, My Old Friend…

Image result for playstation 3

It’s an odd feeling to return to the PlayStation 3.

I almost exclusively use my PlayStation 4 nowadays, but I decided to jump back into the previous system to play one of the games I downloaded through PlayStation Plus. Sure, I’ve occasionally turned this old dinosaur back on, but I’ve been spending more time with it than usual during this past weekend.

The first thing that struck me as odd was the controller.
The DualShock 3 always felt like an inferior controller, but after experiencing the wonder that is the PS4’s DualShock 4, I forgot just how bad it was. The controller feels cheap and hollow and I’m constantly left wondering when it’s going to just crumble in my hand. There’s also the issue of the triggers, that feel more like oddly shaped wedges. As for the actual buttons, maybe my memory is just failing me, but they feel more flat and less tactile than the ones on the DualShock 4.

The other thing that caught me off guard is just how bad the home screen was.
After becoming so familiar with the PS4 and its interface, returning to the PS3 feels alien. It’s ugly and messy, unlike the more streamlined and customizable home screen of the PS4. However, the biggest change was in actually playing a game on the system.

I started up Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands, and I instantly felt a slight sense of revulsion. I have totally taken for granted the visuals we have in modern games. While the game itself has turned out to actually be fun so far, the visuals are a complete eye sore. Everything is jaggy, textures seem to be non-existent, and the game just doesn’t look good. Sure, it might just be this one game that looks this poor, but I honestly don’t remember the games on this system looking this jarringly bad.

I’m actually enjoying the plot and gameplay of The Forgotten Sands, but the visuals are going to honestly test me on whether or not I see this game through to completion. In the meantime? I think I’m going to go pop Uncharted 4 in on the bigger, better console and rejoice in the glory of modern gaming.

– Zack Burrows

Leave a Reply

