PlayStation Plus: October 2016 Lineup

Image result for resident evil remake

Another month, another lineup of “free” games delivered through PlayStation Plus.
Without further ado, let’s take a look at what we’ll being playing this October.

1.) Resident Evil – PS4

With Halloween just around the corner and Resident Evil VII releasing in a few months, what better time to return to the game that started it all? This year also marks the 20th anniversary of the franchise, so it’s a special treat to see it offered up for PlayStation Plus. For those who have never ventured into the halls of this frightening mansion (myself included), this looks to be a rather atmospheric and spooky game to play through. My only experience with the franchise is RE4, so I’m looking forward to jumping into this one and seeing how it all began. This REmake includes enhanced visuals, effects, and environments as well as a revamped control scheme.

2.) Transformers: Devastation – PS4

PS4 users can also look forward to playing Transformers: Devastation.
Inspired by the original cartoon from the 80’s (seriously, look at those visuals!), Devastation is an action packed display of transforming vehicles, intense combat, and intriguing story. While I’m not necessarily a fan of Transformers, I am a fan of video games, so I’m interested in checking this one out. Although there seems to be mixed opinions about this game online, I have it on good authority from a friend of mine that the game is surprisingly deep and complex in its mechanics and that this isn’t one that you should pass by.

3.) Mad Riders – PS3

If you like racing games, Mad Riders might be for you.
I had never heard of it until now, but it honestly looks pretty fun. It’s a cel-shaded 4-wheeler racing game that focuses on speed, stunts, and style. As far as racing games go, I’m not an expert by any means. However, this one looks like it could potentially be a blast. It looks like it’s at least worth checking it out.

4.) From Dust – PS3

I’m just going to be honest, this game looks strange.
It appears to be a God game, granting you the ability to look over civilization and mold the layout of the world to your own desire. The visuals look pretty neat, and the concept sounds intriguing, but I have no real knowledge or experience with the genre to give any further input. I’m definitely going to download this one to try and figure out exactly what the hell it is.

5.) Code: Realize ~Guardian of Rebirth~ – PS Vita

Before I go any further, there’s a character in this game named Herlock Sholmes.
Anyways, awesome/awful names aside, Code: Realize is a visual novel/dating sim type game that takes place in Victorian era London. If you’re a fan of these types of games, then I guess you might want to check this one out? I personally feel that this one looks like it could be skipped. It’s easily the weakest game in the lineup for this month.

6.) Actual Sunlight

This is a game I’ve actually been hearing some high praise for.
Actual Sunlight is a short game about mental illness, which is a subject video games have a hard time tackling. Everything I’ve heard about this game is overwhelmingly positive, with some saying it’s the best game to ever deal with the subject. I don’t much know much more than that, but I don’t want to at the moment. I’d rather play through it myself and discover it that way. Unfortunately, I don’t have a Vita, but I’ll still claim this game so I can check it out when I get one.

FINAL VERDICT

October appears to be a good month for PlayStation Plus.
Resident Evil and Transformers: Devastation are two bigger games that are nice to see in the roster, and the two PS3 titles look interesting enough to at least check out for a little bit. The Vita is getting Actual Sunlight, which is a game I’ve been intrigued by, but it’s also getting Code: Realize which isn’t doing anything for me.

Now let’s take a look at the combined price of buying these games individually compared to picking them up through PlayStation Plus.

Resident Evil = $19.99
Transformers: Devastation = $39.99
Mad Riders = $9.99
From Dust = $14.99
Code: Realize ~Guardian of Rebirth~ = $39.99
Actual Sunlight = $4.99

Total value = $129.94
1 Month of PS Plus = $9.99

That’s right, PS Plus members will be saving $119.95 this month.

– Zack Burrows

Leave a Reply

